Map Unavailable

Date/Time
Date(s) - 07/08/2020
2:00 pm - 3:30 pm

Categories


Wednesday, July 8, 2020
2pm Eastern/1pm Central/12pm Mountain/11am Pacific
Online via Zoom

Ever wondered what stage managing some of the greats like Gwen Verdon, Tallulah Bankhead, Judy Garland, and Groucho Marx during the golden age of Broadway was like? Ever dreamed what sitting at a production table with famed director/choreographers like Bob Fosse and Tommy Tune brought?

After spending some time in the South Pacific during World War II, Paul Phillips returned to New York City to start a career as an actor on Broadway. It was not long before he traded in his costume for a headset, and moved into stage management. Phillips began his stage management career working winter and summer stocks before moving to Broadway in 1959 with Fiorello!, directed by legendary George Abbot. Not long after, he was personally asked by Gwen Verdon to stage manage her next show, Sweet Charity. Other Broadway credits include: Judy Garland, At Home at The Palace, the revival of The Boy Friend, Pippin, Chicago, staring Gwen Verdon and Chita Rivera, The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas, the revival of Mame, staring Angela Lanbury, and Open Admissions. Following a 20-year career on Broadway, Phillips went on to stage manage celebrities at the Claridge Hotel in Atlantic City. Now retired, Philips, who will be 95-years old in October, resides in Naples, Florida.

Join Danielle Ranno as host and  Adrienne Wells as digital monitor as they sit down for an exhilarating conversation with Paul Phillips.

This will be FREE to anyone interested. Membership in the SMA not required but encouraged.

The event is via Zoom, with both video and phone access. Register in advance for this meeting. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

*Please note, the session will be recorded for later viewing. Past webinars can be viewed in the Video Galleries after logging in to stagemanagers.org.