SMA Member Login

Lost your password? (close)

The Founders Award

The Founders Award

Created in 2019, The Founders Award recognizes members of the theatre community who have distinguished themselves by contributing to the betterment of our profession and for embodying the values expressed by the Founders of the SMA.  From nominations submitted by the industry, the recipients are chosen by the Awards and Recognition Committee and confirmed by the Board of the SMA.
Nominate for an Award

Guidelines for consideration include:

  1. Embodies the values expressed by the Founders of the Stage Managers’ Association.
  2. An individual who has a background in stage management.
  3. Deep commitment to serving the Stage Managers’ Association, or other organizations that impact the practice of stage management.
  4. A Stage Manager who may have transitioned to another position in the industry, such as full-time teaching in the performing arts.

The Founders Award Honorees

Janet Friedman
Robert Sutherland-Cohen
Marguerite Price

Special Honorees

Peter Wolf
Sherry Cohen
Jane E. Neufeld
Peter Sargent
101 Black Stage Managers
Narda Alcorn & Lisa Porter